Oscar Predictions 2014

Hello everyone! It’s that time of year again. I am taking a break from my blog hiatus here to share my Oscar predictions for this year. It’s a great set of movies this year and having seen most of the films this year I know that some of the categories are almost too close to call. Like last year I am just going to stick with my thoughts on the nominations for acting, directing, and picture for the post. 

Best Supporting Actress:

1915593

I have only seen three of the ladies this year perform. Julia Roberts, although a little more intense than we are used to seeing her, was still Julia Roberts in August: Osage County. Now I just have to decide between Jennifer Lawrence and Lupita Nyong’o, should be easy right? Right? Both of these ladies killed it this year. Nyong’o has never been in a feature length film prior to 12 Years a Slave, and she nailed it! She is amazing in this film. Then there is Jennifer Lawrence, who owns everything that she’s in. For the small time that she is in American Hustle, compared to the rest of the cast, she creates this unreal character. When she has a neck brace on at the end of the film, you believe that she simply crashed the family car as would be expected from someone like her. Both women are unreal, it’s so difficult to choose but here we go…
Predicted Academy Choice: Lupita Nyong’o
Personal Choice: Jennifer Lawrence

jennifer-lawrence-first-american-hustle

Best Supporting Actor:

JARED LETO! That is all, moving on…

jared-leto

Alright, so Jared Leto owns his roll in Dallas Buyers Club. Completely amazing! Watch it and see.
The rest of the nominees are really close behind. I am so glad that Michael Fassbender is nominated for 12 Years a Slave, his character is truly and believably despicable, he does a great job with the role. Barkhad Abdi is also a new comer to film in Captain Phillips, and he also does a great job. And Bradley Cooper, I always vote for Bradley Cooper. His time will come but I just don’t think that American Hustle is it, not with this group of guys.
Predicted Academy Choice: Jared Leto
Personal Choice: Jared Leto

Best Actress:

cate
Why is it that the women always give me such a difficult time? Amy Adams, Cate Blanchett, Sandra Bullock, Judi Dench, and Meryl Streep, just come on! Amy does such a great job with her role, it’s a different side from what we are used to seeing from her. We see almost every kind of emotion from her in this movie but she still holds it together really well. Sandra holds and carries us throughout the whole movie, she is the main focus and you feel everything that she does, amazing! And then there’s Meryl Streep, who is… well… Meryl Streep. Her role as the mother in August: Osage County, is also despicable, her immediate changes between moods is so great. How do I choose? With two counting categories, that’s how…
Predicted Academy Choice: Cate Blanchett
Personal Choice: Amy Adams

amy-adams

Best Actor:

I am only missing Bruce Dern’s performance here, so… sorry Bruce. This is such a strong category this year. Christian Bale is not Batman anymore, in American Hustle he is… well… gross, and he pulls it off. The worst comb-over ever, the rhythmic adjusting of the glasses, everything. His performance is, unfortunately, overshadowed by the rest of the nominees this year I think. Chiwetel Ejiofor does a great job with 12 Years a Slave but I think that his performance is overshadowed within the movie by Nyong’o and Fassbender.
Now, if you told me five years ago that I would be voting for Matthew McConaughey for an Academy Award, I would have said that you were crazy. He played a type of character that we haven’t seen from him lately, he isn’t the love interest or the action star. His performance along with Leto’s lingered long after I watched the movie, he deserves all of the recognition he has received for this for sure.
And then there’s my pal Leo. Leonardo DiCaprio is long overdue for a win, but I don’t think that his role in The Wolf of Wall Street is the one that is going to do it for him. Although the story is a little more intense than what we have come to expect from him I don’t think that this is the role to remember his career by. He’s done a lot more diverse things and should be recognized for doing more of that.
Predicted Academy Choice: Matthew McConaughey
Personal Choice: Matthew McConaughey

mattm

Best Director:

Despite all of the big names in this category this year my decision is an easy one. Sorry Scorsese, not this year. I would like to see the award go to Alfonso Cuarón for Gravity. If you have read anything about this film you’ll know that Cuarón and the team had to do most of the movie backwards from how you should normally make a film. The amount of planning, foresight, and organization that went into this beautiful film should definitely be recognized by the academy this year.
Predicted Academy Choice: Alfonso Cuarón
Personal Choice: Alfonso Cuarón

gravity

Best Film:

12years
And here’s where I get stuck. I have seen all but two of the Best Picture nominees this year and I am torn every time I come to this decision. I am divided in what the Academy will do. Will they go for the underdog and choose Nebraska? Will they shock us all and pick Her (still a great movie, but this is one of its so few nominations)?  Will they go with the drug and sex filled mad run of The Wolf of Wall Street? Go with the award favourite American Hustle? Or, do what we all think that they will do and choose 12 Years a Slave? They are all good and deserve the nomination, how do you pick just one? My personal choice is for the award to go to American Hustle. The more and more I think about the movie the more I like it. All of the actors are amazing in it, I’m so glad that they were all nominated. The story is great, the costumes and makeup are fun, it’s a great movie!
Predicted Academy Choice: 12 Years a Slave
Personal Choice: American Hustle

americanhustle

And now… I rant.

Even though the list of nominees this year is full of very worthy mentions, I feel like there are some huge oversights this year. I have heard that The Butler is one that should have been nominated. I haven’t seen it yet so I can’t say for sure, but I don’t doubt that any performance by Forest Whitaker deserves a nomination.

First on the list is my girl Emma Thompson as P.L. Travers in Saving Mr. Banks. She plays the prickly author of Mary Poppins very well. You feel for her once you know her story, but up until then she really gets you going. She definitely deserves some recognition for this one.I loved this movie and it’s lack of recognition, especially for its leading lady is truly disappointing.

emma

Second, Tom Hanks for Captain Phillips. I didn’t think that I would say this, and the overall performance isn’t really award worthy. I put him on here because of his performance in the last 15-20 minutes of the film. UNREAL! He plays the shell shocked, traumatized captain so well throughout the film but that last bit is pretty amazing. He should have at least received a nod for it.

captainphilips

And finally, THE BIGGEST OVERSIGHT OF THE YEAR!

rush

RUSH

I wasn’t going to go see this movie. I changed my mind and I have now seen it multiple times. I LOVE IT! My first and immediate reaction to the movie was “who is this Daniel Brühl guy? He’s killing this.” He is amazing as Nika Lauda. When I saw his performance it was like watching Christoph Waltz in Django Unchained last year, you just know that you are watching something amazing! I didn’t consider Chris Hemsworth as much the first time that I saw the film, I was too distracted by Brühl’s performance. However, having watched it again (and again) you see that he’s not Thor here either, he was really able to show what he can do in this type of roll and really pulls off James Hunt. And no nomination for Ron Howard? COME ON! The shots beside the track, in the helmet, in the engine, all of it, you’re right there with the driver the whole time. The whole movie is amazing, I get butterflies every time I watch it. When it’s done I just want to watch it again. Maybe it was out too early to really be considered but that’s a pretty weak excuse.

There you have it, it should be an interesting night. I’ll follow up next week with my thoughts on the night. The Academy Awards are on this Sunday at 7:00PM.

Related Posts

Oscar Night Predictions

Oscar Night 2013

Leave a Reply

